Maggie Stiefvater

This week has been an exciting one for many fandoms. J.K. Rowling announced that she will write a screenplay that explores a new part of the wizarding world, Julianne Moore will portray President Alma Coin in The Hunger Games films Mockingjay Part 1 and 2, and Maggie Stiefvater, New York Times bestselling author and Printz Honoree, revealed that she has authored a new novel based on her hit series The Wolves of Mercy Falls. It was this last bit of news that had me dancing my happy dance.

For those of you who haven’t read Shiver, Linger, and Forever, I suggest that you do because they are great books, but Maggie’s new book Sinner is a stand-alone novel so you don’t have to have read her Mercy Falls trilogy to get excited for her new book. All you need to know about The Wolves of Mercy Falls is that it follows the stories of various characters in Mercy Falls, Minnesota. Mercy Falls is home to both humans and werewolves. This trilogy focuses mostly on Sam Roth and Grace Brisbane, a regular teenage couple besides the fact that Sam is a werewolf. Shiver and Linger also follow the storylines of Cole St. Clair, ex-rock star turned werewolf, and Isabel Culpeper, the sarcastic Ice Queen who gets caught up with the werewolves in Mercy Falls. It isn’t surprising that Cole and Isabel clash, but as the series progresses they grow to understand each other. And just when you think they’ve fallen in love and will live happily ever after, Maggie Stiefvater sends Isabel back to California and ends the last book.


The Wolves of Mercy Falls Trilogy

Since Cole and Isabel definitely crack my top 5 OTPs, I was greatly distressed when the Mercy Falls trilogy ended without any closure regarding Cole and Isabel. But now Maggie has promised me and all of her fans closure and much more. Sinner picks up in Los Angeles after the events of the Mercy Falls trilogy. Here is the official description:

‘Sinner follows Cole St. Clair, a pivotal character from the #1 New York Times bestselling Shiver Trilogy. Everybody thinks they know Cole’s story. Stardom. Addiction. Downfall. Disappearance. But only a few people know Cole’s darkest secret – his ability to shift into a wolf. One of these people is Isabel. At one point, they may have even loved each other. But that feels like a lifetime ago. Now Cole is back. Back in the spotlight. Back in the danger zone. Back in Isabel’s life. Can this sinner be saved?’

Of course, I don’t need to know much more than that. That’s enough to get me bouncing off the walls in excitement. You had me at ‘Cole’ and ‘Isabel’.  Now it’s going to be a tortuous wait until the release date sometime in July, 2014. Of course, I’m willing to wait. Maggie has yet to disappoint me. I am beyond ecstatic to finish Cole and Isabel’s story. Sinner can’t hit the shelves soon enough.

In the meantime, I will occupy myself with Maggie Stiefvater’s newest book The Dream Thieves, out September 17. The Dream Thieves is the second book in Maggie’s Raven Cycle, the first book being The Raven Boys. In honor of Tuesday’s release of The Dream Thieves, Emily and I are celebrating “Maggie Stiefvater” week, so look out for upcoming reviews of Maggie’s books The Raven Boys and The Scorpio Races. And be sure to pick up a copy of The Dream Thieves  on Tuesday!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s