September Synopsis

university-of-maryland-mckeldin-library-university-of-maryland

This beautiful building is McKeldin Library, one of my favorite places to spend time on the University of Maryland campus. On lovely fall days I love to take a blanket and study on the grass, which students call the Mall.

First off, let me start out by saying that I am not dead. No, I’m just really bad at being a consistent blogger, and I apologize for that. And I’m so grateful for Clare, as she has held down the fort while I’ve been MIA. Guys, I owe her so many cookies that it isn’t even funny.

The end of summer ended up being really crazy for me. I went on a fantastic trip with my family to many literary places (I will try to write about them soon!), and finished editing my book. And then a beloved family member passed away at the end of August, and blogging took a backseat as I traveled to Oklahoma to be with family during a really hard time. And then I started my last semester of college on September 3rd! Phew. I’m taking 18 credits and have been working really hard to find a way to juggle school, work, and events with Reformed University Fellowship, an on-campus organization that I have been involved with since my freshman year.

I wish I had superpowers. I wish I could do it all. But this month has shown me a lot about areas in my personal life that need work. I have a hard time dealing with a lot of stress (and boy, did I start this semester stressed), and I have a hard time dealing with change (and it’s my last semester of college…).

3392_501710839879017_38472652_n

Another reason why Clare and I are friends: We laugh. A lot. And go on many adventures.

One of the Big Things in My Life this month has been that I have finally started submitting queries to agents! What this means is that I basically send a one-page letter with a (hopefully) compelling synopsis of my book to agents, who are the marvelous people who try to connect authors to editors and publishing companies. It means that I am one step closer to becoming published, but now I have to sit around, hope and pray that I wrote a compelling story, and check my email approximately 5,000 times a day as I wait to hear back from agents. Prayer would be appreciated!

I think, however, I have found something somewhat close to equilibrium this semester. I have a routine down, which helps a lot. And I have had a ton of adventures that I hope to share on the blog soon! Now that things have settled down, I am hoping to be more consistent about blogging and to stop abusing Clare’s infinite kindness and patience. Did I mention that I owe her big time? Because I do. And I have been informed that I can repay her in book dedications and cookies. This? This right here? This is why Clare and I are friends.

Leave a Reply

