2013: Year in Review

Image

Emily and I standing in front of the Eagle and Child pub in Oxford, England.

I’ve been really good so far about writing 2014 instead of 2013, a change that usually takes me several months to adjust to. But I’ve been very self-conscious about it this year, so my dates have been surprisingly accurate. Still, it makes me a little sad to see 14 follow the 20 instead of 13. 2013 was a good year, I think, and as we head into 2014, Emily and I thought we’d do a little recap of the past year in books, movies, and our general lives. So, without further ado, here are the highlights of my 2013…

Let’s begin with books! I read some very enjoyable ones this year. Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why was the book that moved me the most this year. It is a very emotional and compelling story. I couldn’t put it down. On a lighter note, I also quite enjoyed Grave Mercy by R.L. La Fevers, the story of nun assassins. Just as entertaining was Kerstin Gier’s Ruby Red trilogy, the story of a girl able to time travel and caught in the middle of a conspiracy surrounding a mysterious and dangerous Count Saint Germain. The last book I’ll mention is Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt. This book was positively delightful and some of my favorite reading from 2013.

As far as movies go, 2013 has been a spectacular year, which should make the Academy Awards coming up very interesting. There was Star Trek: Into Darkness, an epic sequel to the new Star Trek reboot, and the new animated Disney movie Frozen, which proved to be as good as any classic Disney film. I also loved Joss Whedon’s adaptation of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing. I could watch that a million times.

Image

Graduating (before I cut my hair) in Trinity Church, New York City.

Besides reading books and watching movies, Emily and I did some exciting stuff this year. We traveled to London, Oxford, and Paris. I got to check some things off my bucket list, namely set foot in the hallowed ground of the Oxford pub and home of the Inklings The Eagle and Child. Best part of my year, though Paris wasn’t too shabby either. I also cut my hair and donated it to Locks of Love. On top of that, I graduated! Finally, no more school. Thank God, right? More importantly, I finished the rough drafts of two novels, which leads me into my one big New Year’s resolutions for 2014: edit those drafts and start sending out query letters! That makes for a daunting 2014, but luckily I will have Emily’s help with that.

2013 was a great year for me, and I hope 2014 will be just as exciting. Emily and I are always curious to know about your own goals and resolutions (especially if they’re writing or reading related) so let us know in the comments what your big plans are for 2014!

Leave a Reply

