My Top 10 Nickel Creek Songs

Have you read John Green’s amazing book The Fault in Our Stars? If not, dear reader, I highly suggest that you borrow it from your library or purchase a copy from your local bookstore, because it is a great read (and is being made into a movie that looks just as awesome).

On Monday I was reminded of one of my favorite quotations from the book. Hazel, the main character, says about her favorite book, “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. And then there are books like An Imperial Affliction, which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like betrayal.”

I don’t know about you, but I definitely feel this way about some of my favorite books. And I also feel this way about my all-time favorite band, Nickel Creek.

largo2011

Sara Watkins, Sean Watkins, and Chris Thile make up the band Nickel Creek.

Perhaps you have never heard Nickel Creek, though it seems that whenever I bring the band up someone always says, “Oh! I listened to them in college!” Why Nickel Creek is so tied to the college days of others, I am not quite sure. But it makes me smile.

Nickel Creek is a bluegrass band that works to push the genre envelope, singing traditional tunes one moment and then singing a Radiohead song the next. The band is made up of Chris Thile on the mandolin, Sara Watkins on the fiddle, and Sean Watkins on guitar. The band formed in 1989, when they were very young, and toured festivals throughout the 1990s. In 2000, Alison Krauss produced one of their albums, titled Nickel Creek. The album received rave reviews, and was nominated for two Grammy Awards.

41Z9Q3G2HML

Their second album in the 2000s, This Side, won a Grammy in 2003 for Best Contemporary Folk Album.

nickel-creek-this-side

Their third album, Why Should the Fire Die? was released in 2005 to great reviews. The title of the album almost seems prophetic now, as the band decided to go on an indefinite hiatus after their last tour in 2007.

51MWnFR4DtLNickel Creek has been my favorite band since I was eight years old. Some of my strongest childhood memories are of being curled up in my favorite armchair by the fire on an autumn night, listening to Nickel Creek while I read with my parents.

So I was slightly devastated when I found out that the band was going on hiatus in 2007, but their last tour, called the Farewell For Now Tour, kept me hoping and praying that the band would get back together again someday.

And on Monday, I found out that that day has finally, finally come! In celebration of the band’s 25th anniversary, Nickel Creek is coming out with a new album and is touring!

nickel-creek-2014-900x470

Needless to say, I am ecstatic and have been listening to their first three albums non-stop since Monday.

If you are a seasoned fan looking to reminisce, or if you’re looking for some amazing, genre-defying, good-mood-inducing goodness, here are my top 10 Nickel Creek songs (in no particular order– all of their songs are amazing).

1. This Side

2. Jealous of the Moon

3. House of Tom Bombadil

4. Tomorrow is a Long Time

5. Green and Gray

6. The Fox

7. Doubting Thomas

8. Speak

9. Robin and Marian

10. Scotch & Chocolate

Bonus Tracks:

Nickel Creek’s new song, Destination, from their new album

and a live cover of Britney Spears’ Toxic, as sung by Chris Thile. Because somehow it is both hilarious and brilliant.

Happy listening!

Leave a Reply

