Book Hangovers

10626594

One of my past book hangovers was Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races.

I am currently experiencing a book hangover.

You may be asking yourself, what is a “book hangover”? Though you may not be familiar with the term, dear reader, I can almost guarantee that you have experienced at least one of these in the past. Here are the symptoms:

  • Finishing the last page of a book and wiping away tears and/or sighing heavily.
  • Staring listlessly out the window.
  • Staring listlessly at your book shelves, knowing that you are not in the mood to read any of the books on them.
  • Staring listlessly at the shelves in your local bookstore or at amazon.com, knowing that the only book that you want to read is the sequel of the book you just read. You know, the sequel that comes out in a year.

I am sad to say that the only cure, like with any heartbreak, is time. Time and that darn sequel that the author is working so hard to finish.

16069030

Please don’t let the stereotypical YA pretty-white-girl-in-frilly-dress book cover fool you: this book packs a serious emotional punch.

But you will move on with life, dear reader. I promise you that. Though right now it feels like part of you is in another world, and you are in a bit of a bleary-eyed daze from staying up all night to get to that last page, in a few days you will feel better. Refreshed. Willing to consider other book options. Willing to fall in love with other worlds and characters. It may not feel like it now, but that day will come, I promise.

But for me, it is not that day. Please excuse me while I stare with longing at my computer screen, waiting for news about when the sequel to Marie Rutkoski’s brilliant book The Winner’s Curse comes out. And maybe, once I’ve regained a bit of consciousness, and my ability to “even”, I will try to write a review. But that is not this day.

 

Leave a Reply

