A Taste of Italy

IMG_2919Anyone who knows me can attest to the fact that carbs is my favorite food group. It’s the German part of me. Carbs, carbs, carbs. So, of course, one of my favorite kinds of food ever is Italian food. I love the bread, the pasta, the meatballs. One day, I will go to Italy and do nothing but eat, eat, eat all the delicious Italian food. But until then, I search eagerly for authentic Italian restaurants outside of the mother land. I found one in Santa Barbara, Max’s Restaurant and Cucina. My family likes to go there for breakfast on Sundays, but at night their Italian food is to die for. And served by a waitress with a thick Italian accent.

IMG_2922So naturally, when Emily and I went to Boston and we learned that they have quite the Italian food scene, we decided we had to eat in Little Italy. Luckily, the Freedom Trail goes right through Little Italy, and we actually got breakfast and a delicious pastry shop called Modern Pastry, but we were sure to return for lunch. We found a restaurant right on the Freedom Trail called Limoncello, and it was some of the best Italian food I’ve ever had.

IMG_0793Homemade pasta, fresh bread, and a cute waiter who barely spoke English. The place was wonderful. It was adorable, with paintings of Italy on the walls, bottles of wine lined up around the room, and cute flowers by the windows. We were one of the only parties in the restaurant at the time, so it was a relaxing environment. We sat by the window and watched people walk by on the Freedom Trail and observed people going about their business in Little Italy. It was a great experience, and even as I write this I’m craving the food.

Someday I’ll go to Italy for real and eat so much food I’ll come back twice the size I was when I left. But until then, I’m grateful to find places with such authentic Italian food. They’re gems, and if you’re ever in Boston and looking for a good place to eat, I wholeheartedly recommend Limoncello.

Emily and I in Little Italy, Boston, right outside Limoncello on the Freedom Trail.

Emily and I in Little Italy, Boston, right outside Limoncello on the Freedom Trail.

Leave a Reply

